Learning

‘Together for a better internet’

The 2019 theme for Safer Internet Day is: ‘Together for a better internet’ and this week we spoke to Years 10-12  about ICT expectations for this year. We will also speak to Years 7- 9 students in the following weeks.

The following points were discussed:

  • We would like students to take appropriate care of their laptop. This starts with using a carry case and being mindful of where they place their laptop when they are working.
  • We encourage students to take their laptop to the ICT Help Desk for minor issues so that they can be fixed under warranty or accidental damage.  This will ensure that they will have a fully operational laptop for three years.
  • It is important that students back up their work and check that their work is being fully synced to the cloud. We also suggest a backup of work to a hard drive at home.
  • Becoming a digitally organised learner is a skill which develops over time. We specifically discussed the need to use folders and perhaps rules in their Outlook email and suggested developing the good structure for note taking  through the use of OneNote or folders and subfolders if the preference is to use Word documents.

Tuesday 5 February is   Safer Internet Day 2019 .  #eSafety is important for all of us to understand and act upon.

 

Mr Martin Pluss

Dean of Learning

 

Dates to Remember:

yEARS 7 – 12

Assembly Years 10 & 11 RoSA 2019

Wednesday 13 February

11:55am – 12:55pm

Gym

Year 12

Year 12 Academic Plenary Meetings

Friday 22 February  3:30pm – 6:30pm

GBC – DRC – LRC

Year 12 Assessment Block 1

Monday 18 February – Thursday 22 February

Year 12 Assessment Block 2

Monday 18 March– Monday 25 March

Year 11

Year 11 Parent Information Evening

Monday 4 February

Year 10

Minimum Standards Testing

Thursday 28 February – Friday 1 March

Careers Evening

Tuesday 12 March

Year 7 & 9

NAPLAN Online Practice

Monday 25 March – Friday 29 March

Year 7

Year 7 Parents & Student Study Skills Evening with Prue Salter

Monday 1 April   7:00pm – 8:30pm

DRC