Oratory News

Mock Trial

Mock Trial season is upon us! Congratulations to the following students who have been selected to participate in this year’s Mock Trial.

Year 11

  • Clare O’Connell
  • Madeleine Roberts
  • Laura Hiatt
  • Niamh Condon
  • Georgia Neely
  • Katherine Coffey

Year 10

  • Angelina Gu
  • Charlotte Ainsworth
  • Claire O’Connor
  • Stephanie Sardinha
  • Daniella Bianchi
  • Dominica Leaver

Students have begun to prepare for the season this week and the first round, a practise round will be held in the coming weeks. In Round 1, Loreto Normanhurst will take on the role of defence, against Knox Grammar.

Congratulations and Goodluck

Congratulations to all students who participated in the CSDA Public Speaking Competition. It was a great night and all students presented speeches, which were considered, on topic and original. It is always great to hear the thoughts, ideas and passions of our students.

The following students were selected to participate in the CSDA Public Speaking Semi Finals at Riverview tonight. We again, wish them luck. If you are interested in coming along, the speeches begin at 7pm.

  • Annie Clark
  • Ellen Parker
  • Tiana Kovacs
  • Stephanie Sardinha
  • Swetha Kumar
  • Maanya Maini

Debating Registrations

Registrations for interest in participating in this year’s debating program, closes tonight. Trials for teams will occur on Tuesday 8    of March from 3:30pm – 5:00pm. If your daughter is unable to attend, follow up trials will be held on the  10 March   from 3:30pm-4:30pm. More information regarding this will be emailed to your daughter over the weekend. Registrations are available  online.

For your reference, the dates for CSDA and Archdale are:

CSDA

Round 1 Friday 1 April
Round 2  Friday 29 April
Round 3  Friday  6 May
Round  4  Friday 13 May
Round 5 Friday 20 May 
Round 6 Friday 27 May 
Elimination 1 (if needed) Friday 3 June 
Elimination 2 Friday 17 June 
Quarter Final Friday 24 June 
Semi Finals Friday 22 July 
Final Friday 29 July 

ARCHDALE

 Round 1  Tuesday 24 May
Round 2  Tuesday 31 May 
Round 3  Tuesday 7 June 
Round 4  Tuesday 14 June 
Round 5  Tuesday 21 June 
Round 6  Tuesday 26 July 
Round 7  Tuesday 2 August 
Tie-Breakers                                                                         Tuesday 16 August 
Quarter Finals  Tuesday 23 August 
Semi Finals Tuesday 30 August 
Grand Final Tuesday 6 September 

 

Coaches and Adjudicators           

We are inviting ex-students and parents to be a part of the Oratory@LN team in 2016. We are looking for adjudicators and coaches and no experience is necessary, just simply an interest in all things oratory. You will need a Working with Children number.

For further information or to get involved, please refer to the Oratory@LN Handbook and or contact us.

 

Mrs Bernadette O’Dwyer

Oratory Coordinator