Learning

Year 7  Parents & Student Study Skills Evening with Dr Prue Salter

On Monday 9 April, 7:00pm – 8:30pm, Year 7 students and their parents are invited to the Deidre Rofe Centre (DRC) to hear Dr Prue Salter from   Enhanced Learning Educational Services  speak about how to develop effective study skills.

Dr Salter’s presentation will  focus on how to create an environment that is conducive to good study habits. She also addresses strategies on developing good communication between students and their parents so conversations about school work are solutions focused rather than fraught with tension. Dr Salter’s presentation is interactive and gives students and their parents an opportunity to talk about how the girls can organise their time efficiently so that they can work productively and avoid last minute stress. It is a refreshing and practical presentation that will give you plenty to build on with your daughters .

You can learn more about how to get motivated  through the  Study Skills Handbook website  by logging in with the details below and working through some of the units, particularly the unit on motivation. On the ‘Things to Print’ page are some useful handouts for parents and students about how to build motivation.

Username: loretonh

Password: loretonh

 

Mrs Carolina Murdoch

Dean of Learning

 

Dates to Remember –  Term 1 2018

Year 7 Year 7 Parents & Student Study Skills Evening with Dr Prue Salter Monday 9 April

7:00pm  – 8.30pm

Deirdre Rofe Centre

(Please note this is a change in Venue)

 


Dates to Remember –  Term 2 2018

All years Careers Evening (optional) Wednesday 9 May 2018

3:30pm – 7:00pm

Gonzaga Barry Centre

Year 12 Year 12 Assessment Term 2 Block 1 Monday 14 May – Friday 18 May
Year 12 Assessment Term 2 Block 2 Monday 28 May – Tuesday 5 June
Year 12 Study Skills – Dr Prue Salter (Students) Thursday 28 June

8.45am

Curran Theatre

Year 11 Year 11 Study Skills – Dr Prue Salter (Students) Friday 4 May

8.25am

Curran Theatre

Year 10 Year 10 Canberra Excursion Wednesday 16 May – Friday 18 May

Canberra

Subject Selection Evening Wednesday 6 June

6.30pm – 8.30pm

TBC

Subject Selection Individual Plenaries Over Term 2 Weeks 7 – 9
Year 9 NAPLAN Tuesday 15 May – Thursday 17 May

Catch-up on 18 May

Year 7 NAPLAN Tuesday 15 May – Thursday 17 May

Catch-up on 18 May

Years 7-11 Academic Plenary Meetings Friday 11 May

1:00pm – 6.30pm

Various locations in same vicinity, map will be provided.

Monday 14 May

3:30pm – 6.30pm

Gymnasium

Tuesday 22 May

3.30pm – 6.30pm

TBC